Konnchiwa reader ( i might be the only one who is reading it), i'm a person who just happen to find himself interested in learning Japanese, you're asking me why? i can't give an exact answer to that but all what i can remember is that back to my childhood i watched a lot of anime, one of them was Case closed ( Detective Conan) it was such an interesting anime that was ahead of my brain cause i probably never caught the carprit from the the suspects, it happens to have those panels in Chinese - that's what i thought i mean Kanji is a Chinese characters,right?- so i wasn't completely wrong, well i thought the writing is cool and the idea of writing something that no one could read in the place i live was really thrilling but i thought that would be so hard to do that since i was just started learning French in that time so i just forgot about it. One of the places where i stumbled with Japanese was in Video games, especially in consoles like Snes, GBA and Nintendo DS, wheras had some games that are entirely in Japanese so playing them was so painful because i couldn't understand a single word which made wish if only knew Japanese would be great to understand the dialogues and the story i can go on.. till 2015 by accident i found a website called Japanesepod101.com, in case you don't know this website, it's a website that has thousand of audio lessons accompanied by PDF files, these audio lessons goes from an absolute beginner to Advanced level, seeing that it has a lot of audio material made me think that i would never run out of of something new to learn, i have listened to couple of audio of their culture classes and also some newbie lessons but since i didn't take the studies seriously i eventually stopped learning.
Months later passed and each day passes i felt like i should start again but it was just thoughts never took action, in 2016 i found a Youtube channel known by LangFocus it's a channel about Languages i found it so entertaining and it made me so excited to have a fresh start in Japanese and improve my poor French and English, using some Spaced repetition system like Memrise and Duolingo, used them for couple of weeks learned Hiragana and some dozen of French vocab.. again i quit, i don't know i have a problem of consistency.
In 2017 things didn't change, have the desire to learn but i tried instead to look for best materials and learning paths that can make learning takes a shorter time so i have read tonnes of blog posts and reddit posts but since they were many i got very perplexed should i use Genki textbook or minna no nihongo, should i learn Kanji now or later? does Grammar matters? and a lot of other questions.
I checked the area i live in and i found no school provide Japanese course it made me kinda disappointed so i thought i just need to study it on my own by just focusing on few tools to avoid distraction. Now that I've more reasons for studying Japanese, one of these reasons wanting to continue my studies there and be with my Japanese girl so to keep myself motivated i decided to open this blog as an open diary starting from the beginning of my journey into Japanese where i post my learning progress, challenges,the learning materials and tools i use it's like i'm sharing experiences with you which might be useful for some of you.
If you happen that you started learning Japanese , let us know why and how you are studying Japanese :)
No comments:
Post a Comment